Blackstone Faculty

Thursday, January 01, 2009

NOTE: Though originally published in 2009, this page was subsequently edited to add new speakers who presented at Blackstone Legal Fellowship in later years. Specific years the faculty below presented at Blackstone Legal Fellowship are available upon request.


As Augustine cogently noted, "Moral character is not assessed by what a man knows, but by what he loves." And while ideas have consequences, people change cultures. Accordingly, Alliance Defending Freedom extends Blackstone Legal Fellowship faculty invitations only to a select "dream team" of well-formed scholarly professors and practitioners who fit and exemplify these rigorous, though timeless, criteria. These men and women instruct not simply by their lectures, their writings, and their resumes, but by their very lives – lives joyfully and challengingly imparted during the Blackstone Legal Fellowship to the next generation of leaders in law and policy. In this way, iron truly sharpens iron.

Past faculty members have included:

Professor Helen M. Alvaré, George Mason University School of Law

Professor Hadley Arkes, Amherst College

Dr. John S. Baker, Jr., Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Louisiana State University

Donald E. Cardon, Cardon Development Group & Cardon Global

Professor Amy Coney Barrett, University of Notre Dame Law School

Dr. Francis J. Beckwith, Baylor University

Dr. Anthony B. Bradley, Acton Institute for the Study of Religion and Liberty

Dr. J. Budziszewski, University of Texas at Austin

Paige Cunningham, The Center for Bioethics and Human Dignity

Professor Kyle Duncan, General Counsel, The Becket Fund

Dr. John C. Eastman, Chapman University School of Law - The Claremont Institute

David French, American Center for Law and Justice

Professor Richard Garnett, University of Notre Dame Law School

Sherif Girgis

Timothy S. Goeglein, Focus on the Family

Stephanie Gray, Canadian Centre for Bio-Ethical Reform

David G. Hagopian, Holdsworth & Hagopian

Professor Joshua D. Hawley, University of Missouri School of Law

Hugh Hewitt, The Hugh Hewitt Show

Dr. Peter Jones, truthXchange

Laura J. Lederer, Global Centurion Foundation

Jennifer A. Marshall, The Heritage Foundation

Professor John C. Nagle, University of Notre Dame Law School

Father Frank Pavone, Priests for Life

Rev. Joel Pelsue, Arts & Entertainment Ministries

Rev. Dr. Alfred J. Poirier, Rocky Mountain Community Church

Professor Charles Rice, University of Notre Dame Law School

Dr. Jennifer Roback Morse, The Ruth Institute

Austin Ruse, Catholic Family & Human Rights Institute - Culture of Life Foundation

Cathy Ruse, Family Research Council

Rev. Dr. P. Andrew Sandlin, Center for Cultural Leadership

Professor Michael Scaperlanda, University of Oklahoma College of Law

Wesley J. Smith, The Discovery Institute

Professor O. Carter Snead, University of Notre Dame Law School

Dr. Del Tackett, The Truth Project